Do you ever feel like you’ve been dropped down a rabbit hole? You live in a world where nothing at all makes sense but what makes the least sense makes the most sense and everything is backwards and upside down and you’re not quite sure which direction is up but it doesn’t really matter because you can only go forwards or are you really going backwards and is your head actually screwed on straight or are you seeing things from a different perspective for a reason and is it a good thing or something that’s worth checking up on or looking into and is that smile sincere or the sneaky Cheshire Cat up to no good or perchance do you ever feel like the frantic White Rabbit where you can’t keep your shit together and constantly feel like you’re running out of time? That’s how I feel right now. I feel like I am both the White Rabbit and Alice all in one. I do not envy Alice because it is so incredibly exhausting and I’m wondering how I’m supposed to handle fraternizing with playing cards or smoking caterpillars or babies that turn into pigs and I don’t know what I’m supposed to think of the Mad Hatter – in fact sometimes I feel like my life is one gigantic, never-ending tea party full of riddles about ravens and writing desks and dormouses talking about drawings of a muchness. What is a muchness?

“‘We’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.’

`How do you know I’m mad?’ said Alice.

`You must be,’ said the Cat, `or you wouldn’t have come here.'”

I love that part. Not sure why. I’m not saying I’m mad, or that you’re mad for that matter! Think of another interesting adjective the people you keep close by have in common. You must be whatever that adjective is, at least on some level, or you wouldn’t have found them! Or perhaps you’re like Alice: “Alice didn’t think that proved it at all.” I’m not like Alice. I find some sense to it. Of course, maybe I’m just mad like the rest of them.

Whichever way you look at it, sometimes you just feel like you’ve been thrown into a Wonderland of your own. You can’t make sense of anything and you just don’t know which direction would be more (or perhaps less) beneficial or worth taking. But I am writing this at 2 in the morning. Maybe I just need some sleep. Although I suppose that’s what got Alice into her mess, isn’t it?

In all seriousness, though, I do have an Alice mug and it’s my favorite:

“‘There is no use trying,’ said Alice; ‘one can’t believe impossible things.’ ‘I dare say you haven’t had much practice,’ said the Queen. ‘When I was your age, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.'”

I think that’s a lovely practice. Perhaps I should start doing that. Keep a notebook and write down all of the impossible things I believe each day. What kind of perspective would that give us on life and the world and the people we meet or already know? I think it’s something worth looking into. I’ll keep you posted.

Well, goodnight world! In the meantime, watch out for white rabbits. I hear they tend to stir things up a bit.

