So, first off, I’m sick. Minor head cold, not a big deal. It’s my own fault, I’ve really been testing my immune system this past week. SO here I sit, on my chaise, all day long, waiting for someone to offer to bring me some orange juice. Another thing that sucks about being sick? When you’re also having one of those rare fantastic hair days and nobody gets to see it. But anyways, that’s irrelevant. Although, I suppose I’ll warn you that because I’m sick my thoughts are scattered and incomplete so I apologize if anything I say in this post doesn’t really make sense. I’m watching Ever After and am being reminded of how much I don’t like this century. I could have lived in the Renaissance.

Ever After is my favorite movie. I can watch it multiple times a day, every day, and not get sick of it. I did go through a phase like that a couple years ago in fact. I turn it on the and the music instantly calms me down and makes me feel better about everything. I think it is such a beautiful movie. I always wanted to write a story like that for Sleeping Beauty, but I feel like that one’s a tad more difficult to make somewhat realistic. Either way, I think this movie is brilliant and I want that dress and those shoes. In fact…Maybe I’ll just replicate the look for my wedding (minus the wings…well…we’ll see). But seriously. Just look at those shoes. Just – just look at them for a moment…

Image

 

 

 

 

Good? Ok.

Here are just a few of my favorite quotes from this movie (chronologically):

Image~ “Some people read because they cannot think for themselves.” In my encounters I’ve often found the opposite to be closer to the truth and this line comes from the stepmother, a baroness, a woman of noble blood, of high social standing…hmm. Real subtle. Although Rodmilla does have her own sort of genius. She’s very calculating and quite good at being manipulative which requires being able to think quick on her feet and there’s definitely something to be said for that. She’s pretty good at thinking for herself and other people for that matter. Did I mention that Anjelica Huston was absolutely perfect for this role?

~ After first meeting Danielle when she gave Henry her mother’s name…he DID say “A name. Any name.” ANY name. Not meaning hers. It’s his own fault for assuming that it was her name she said when she never specified which name she gave him. With how adamant she was about not giving him her name, and with her stubbornness and point blank scolding him of his manner and arrogance, why on earth would she want to give him her real name? Men.

~ “I will simply deny you the crown and…live forever!” I love the king and queen. They’re awesome and this line just always cracks me up.

~ “You were born to privilege and with that comes specific obligations.” Now, I never thought much about this line before, but it struck me this time because it’s application potential is vast. We’re not all born to privilege, quite the contrary, but we didn’t ask to be on whatever level of the food chain or class system we’ve been placed on. We’re simply put there. We didn’t even ask if we wanted to be born into this world of dog eat dog – which over time has evolved into something that in a way goes against the natural and humane order of things – we weren’t even asked if we wanted to be born at all, and then are forced to live in a cruel world where not everybody gets what they deserve. It isn’t fair and like Henry we all have certain obligations stemming from where we’re placed and we have to deal with that and find a way to work with what we’ve got. It’s all a big game and you either play it in the expected and accepted way, the unconventional way, or you’re one of those people who needs to “get their shit together”. There will always be certain expectations for us and in this society we’re seemingly obligated to meet them. Whichever way you play the game is up to you, but there’s not much getting around it. You can choose to follow those obligations and meet those expectations or you can be one of those people who needs to “get their shit together.” Yes, this sounds kind of cynical and morbid but a few friends of mine were having this huge conversation about it the other night while we were looking at the city skyline so it’s been on the brain. It was really long and convoluted and I’m not explaining it well at all so that little tidbit is the best I can give you right now. NEXT!

~ “Go….catch a chicken.” Don’t ask why this made the list. I’m not quite sure. I also just watched Princess Diaries 2 last week which involves a chicken chase in the throne room and a reference to said chicken incident at the end of the movie…so I guess chickens are also on the brain.

Image~ Henry: “Do you really think there is only one perfect mate?” Leo: “As a matter of fact, I do.” H: “Well then how can you be certain to find them? And if you do find them are they really the one for you or do you only think they are? And what happens if the person you’re supposed to be with never appears, or, or she does, but you’re too distracted to notice?” Leo: “You learn to pay attention.” H: “Then let’s say God puts two people on Earth and they are lucky enough to find one another. But one of them gets hit by lightning! Well then what? Is that it? Or, perchance, you meet someone new and marry all over again. Is that the lady you’re supposed to be with or was it the first? And if so, when the two of them were walking side by side were they both the one for you and you just happened to meet the first one first, or, or was the second one supposed to be first? And is everything just chance or are some things meant to be?” I just absolutely love this part. So so much. Cracks me up. Everything about it. I love how getting hit by lightning is the catastrophe that comes to him. Plus, let’s be honest, who hasn’t had this speil run through their head at least once? If your’e like me (and have seen the movie) you can read this and hear him saying it. Ha. It’s so great. Then Leo’s wonderful as well: “You can’t leave everything to Fate boy! She’s got a lot to do, sometimes you must give her a hand!”

~ “You have more conviction in one memory than I have in my entire being.” No explanation for this one. Just gets me every time.

Image~ “You are too magnanimous, Your Majesty.” Yea yea suck up. But did you ever notice that in this movie Megan Dodds has the most flawless skin?? Also, I love Jacqueline. She’s adorable and for those of you who haven’t seen the movie, the part with the feather that’s sticking out of her dress is simply splendid.

~ “I used to think that if I cared about anything I’d have to care about everything and I’d go stark raving mad.” I mean, I guess that’s a legitimate concern. I know a couple of people who think like that.

Now for the gold:

Image

~ “And while Cinderella and her prince did live happily ever after, the point, gentlemen, is that they lived.”

This is my favorite quote of all time. It’s been my favorite since I was a kid, but as I grow up and things in my life change so does the meaning of the quote. It grows with me. It has always applied to my life in some way, and I suppose now more than ever. I can’t even explain what it means to me now except that it’s perfect and so incredibly true. It helps keep me sane, keeps me strong. It gives me chills. I hope you can find some beautiful meaning in it for yourself. And if you haven’t seen the movie, I hope these lovely gems have inspired you to go experience its magic :]

