Do you believe in past lives? This has all fumbled around in my mind before, but the other day as I was riding the train back to Chicago from Minnesota my sister was texting me about this interesting idea and it got me thinking again. What if we do have past lives? What if we are reborn and keep coming across – or keep finding – the same people? I don’t know. It is interesting to think about. Let’s think about the relationships you’ve had – not necessarily romantic! It certainly can be, but this also applies to friendships and strangers you meet on the street.

Let’s start with that last category – have you ever first met someone but they didn’t seem like a stranger to you? There’s something familiar about them…you can’t quite place what, but just the way you two interact is very familiar and known to you right from the start. From day one certain things already feel very habitual. It feels like you’ve known them and have been together or have been friends for forever…perhaps you have.

There are some people in your life where it’s just been really easy from the beginning. The friendship or relationship was so natural. They’re incredibly easy to talk to and you have no problem understanding them while others may find it impossible (and vice versa). The people I’m closest to in this life are relationships that were so easy – I just fell into it. I’ve always felt comfortable around them and found that conversation came more easily, or at least easier – I’m not the best conversationalist with people I don’t know. It wasn’t even that I had no problem talking deeply with them. I felt compelled to tell them things. Things I’d never told anyone spilled forth from my lips because I couldn’t stop the urge to share this piece of myself with them. And I didn’t want to stop it. I wanted these people in my life and somehow without knowing them I knew they’d understand. And they did, they do.

Expanding on that, have you met someone that you are so incredibly connected to, someone you’re so in tune with? Maybe you know their moods from afar. You can sense when they’re in distress (I mean, that might just also be an empath thing, but I think it can apply to this theory too!). You know exactly how to deal with them without being told. Maybe because you’ve done it countless times before?

Let’s look past relationships. Have you ever been to a place where you feel a certain sense of belonging? Or perhaps you have a sense you’ve been there before. Now, I need to make the important distinction that in all of this I am saying, I am NOT talking about deja vu. These are two completely different things. It’s hard to explain…if you’ve experienced it, you know what I’m talking about.

I just find it fascinating to think that there are some people where you know them from the beginning. It’s as if your souls recognize each other. I’m not talking about soul mates. That’s another thing. Although, it is terribly easy to branch off into the topic of soul mates and predestination, and while I hadn’t intended to go there, my fingers seem to be taking off with me.

Now I don’t necessarily believe in soul mates as in there’s one person you’re meant to be with, you only have one perfect mate, etc. No. I do believe in soul mates. But they don’t have to be your romantic interest. Again they can be, but they can also be family, friends, a teacher, anyone you have a special connection with, more than anyone else, and you understand each other perfectly. Someone who can change you in ways you’ve never imagined and can help you through the most difficult of times.

These are your soul mates, and while I wasn’t speaking before with them in mind, perhaps that is a reason we meet those who are so familiar. If there are past lives, maybe that is why we keep finding each other – we’re soul mates. Which could bring us to predestination in saying that we keep meeting in each life because we’re meant to find each other, or we’re meant to come across this place where we’ve been before because we’re meant to be here at this time and I could go on. But I won’t. I think I’ve exhausted the topic for the time being. At least in this post.

Enjoy your evenings and indulge in exploring this food for thought! Thinking about the possibility has made me notice certain things in my relationships and look at them differently. I can’t think about it too much or I’ll start making stuff up and turn things into something they’re not. But it’s fun to speculate :]

“I don’t know how it is you are so familiar to me – or why it feels less like I am getting to know you and more as though I am remembering who you are. How every smile, every whisper brings me closer to the impossible conclusion that I have known you before, I have loved you before – in another time, a different place – some other existence.”

~ Lang Leav

