Recently I was reading an article on thoughtcatalog.com and the following quote has stuck around with me:

 

“Being disappointed in yourself just means that you know you can do better. …It means that you believe in bigger things for yourself. And holding that belief in life will take you further than you could possibly imagine.”

 

I absolutely love this and I really need to keep it in mind. Not just for my career or my life path, although certainly it will come in handy as I set off into the real world, but for my relationships and for the little things I get so psychotic about. I have a bit of a guilt complex, and that’s immediately what I thought of when I read this quote. As an empath and a caretaker I am very receptive to energies of certain people on an intuitive level. The result? I get attached to people deeply and quickly and have a tendency to take responsibility for them or hold high expectations for myself as an aspect in their lives. It doesn’t take much for the red light to go on, for the wheel in my subconscious to start turning and for my insides to get all squirmy – akin to the sensation you get when thinking back on a particularly embarrassing moment in your life.

I read this quote when I was feeling particularly squirmy and it made me calmer. It chased away whatever I was feeling guilty about. It replaced my self-nagging with a need for action. I didn’t realize until then that most of my guilt comes from some deep disappointment in myself for whatever I think I have or haven’t done. Disappointment and guilt are two of the most destructive things you can inflict on a mind – it’s where the rest of it all starts. I wrote this quote in my journal and I intend to keep it very close to those wheels that are always turning. I’m sure there’s a lot more I could say on this matter, but this just a short, sweet note for the night, and I will close by saying that I am printing this out and putting it on my mirror, and anyone else who feels inspired by this note should do the same!

