Happiness is not an objective. It is the movement of life itself, a process, and an activity. It arises from curiosity and discovery. – Rules for a Knight by Ethan Hawke


This is just a small reminder that there isn’t one key to happiness. Don’t let society’s expectations or your own personal expectations box you up.

Let’s address the age old question, “What do you want to do with your life?” When people ask this question they typically refer to your desired career, to your long-term goals, to where you eventually want to end up. Why do we have to end up in any one place? When I used to answer “I don’t know” or “I’m figuring it out” I would tend to feel awkward and unaccomplished. I felt unproductive and unmotivated. But recently I’ve come to terms with the fact that there isn’t one thing I want to do with my life. Societal expectations are that we go to school, go to college, get a degree, get a job in that degree, and for most of us do that job for the rest of our lives. Now, that’s great for most people. If you love what you do that’s all anyone can ask for!

But what if instead of focusing on lifelong careers, on where we want to end up, on five year plans, ten year plans, short-term/long-term goals, etc., we were to focus on filling our lives with new things, with anything and everything we find enjoyable, with following one thread of life until we come to another that looks interesting? What if instead of looking toward one end goal we learn to appreciate the discovery of life and move with it’s whims and fancies? I think the result could be pretty magical, and nothing short of happiness.

What do I want to do with my life?

I want to live life as it comes. I want to succumb to life’s fanciful notions. I want to take adventures, make discoveries, try new things and fill my pockets with all sorts of random skills and stories. I want to stretch myself until there’s nowhere else to stretch. I want to love and give and appreciate what I’m given in return. I want to break out of my box of personal expectations. I want to be limitless. Let’s be limitless.

